A Beginner’s Guide to Zodiac Signs

The twelve Zodiac Signs give us the foundation of what some believe to be the reasons why we feel and act at different times of the year.

Much like the months on the calendar, there are twelve of these signs, and they make up the year. Unlike a calendar, they are evenly distributed for 30-degrees of movement based on the path of the sun.  Each sign is derived from a constellation in the area of the sky the sun passes through during that time of the year.

Modern Astrology Applied

Astrology has been known to be a bit of an oddity when it comes to science, but it is closely related to astronomy, and many believe their sign has a lot to do with specific traits of individuals.  That’s not to say everyone that studies Astrology belies in horoscopes, but they might have other insights that can be traced to the time of year and sing you were born under.

While the shape of every sign is 30 degrees of movement, the dates change to begin and end between the 19th and 23rd of each month.  Two factors cause this change in the dates.  First, not every month is exactly thirty days long, and the year is not exactly 360 days.  That is the Julian calendar showing its impact on Astrology.  Another factor is that the Earth orbits the sun on an elliptical shape and is not a perfect circle.  This means the curve at the top of the 30-degree part of the orbit could be longer during some signs.

Should You Remember the Order of the Zodiac Signs?

Is it important to you to know all of the signs?  Do you want to use this memory as part of a party trick?  If so, there is a mnemonic device you can use to remember the order of the signs.  Incidentally, the signs begin in the spring on March 21, the vernal equinox.

The mnemonic device you can use is “All The Great Constellations Live Very Long Since Stars Can’t Alter Physics.  While there are a couple of doubles for the names, you will get most of them in the right order.  In correct order, the Zodiac Signs are Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces.

Other Factors in Your Astrology

The sign you were born under isn’t the only factor in Astrology that has been explained.  Other factors are the sun, moon, and rising signs that are part of the mix.

The sun sign guides your inner personality and is one of the 12 Zodiac Signs.  This is dictated by where the sun is in the sky when you are born.  Your sun sign is the sign you know the most.

Your moon sign is said to rule your emotions and is calculated based on the date, time, and place of your birth.

The rising sign is what’s used to guide your outer personality and how the world sees you.  This sign is determined by the planet that was on the eastern horizon when you were born, much like how the sun rises in the east.  This sign also defines your planetary sign, which is said to have more influence over a sign when it’s in position.

Your Sign Includes an Elemental Association

Whether your head is spinning already with the Astrological information or not, the next part of understanding Zodiac Signs is the fact that there are elements associated with every sign.  The four classic elements are earth, water, fire, and air.  These elements represent personality traits and tendencies.  If you’re going to apply Astrology to your life, the elemental nature of your sign might be helpful to you.

Here’s how these elements relate to the signs and what traits are associated with them:

Fire Signs

  • Aries
  • Leo
  • Sagittarius

Known to be spontaneous, reactive, and assertive.

Earth Signs

  • Taurus
  • Virgo
  • Capricorn

Known to be dependable, practical, and sensual.

Air Signs

  • Gemini
  • Libra
  • Aquarius

Known to be intellectual, detached, and fair-minded.

Water Signs

  • Cancer
  • Scorpio
  • Pisces

Known to be fluid, emotional, and intuitive.

Which is Your Planetary Ruler?

The planets are a major factor in Astrology and are used as part of the explanation of why different signs act differently.  The outer plants are significant in the 12 houses, which are different from the 12 Zodiac Signs.  Each house is ruled by a sign, which can cause this part of the explanation to be a bit confusing.

The first house is determined by the time of day you were born because the houses rotate with the Earth.  The houses are considered to be places, not energies, but they are where the energies are most likely to manifest, relating to where experience matters most for a person.

With regards to the planets, the rising sign relates to different planets and objects in the sky to give you basic feelings.  Your rising sign is part of your Astrological package.  When a planet is said to be in retrograde, it appears to be moving backward, and feelings are meant to be felt more deeply during this time.

The emotional aspect of your planetary ruler in your rising sign is as follows:

  • Mercury – Mind and Communication
  • Venus – Love and Attraction
  • Mars – Drive and Energy
  • Jupiter – Growth, Luck, and Wisdom
  • Saturn – Disciplines, Fears, and Challenges
  • Uranus – Change and Originality
  • Neptune – Dreams and Healing
  • Pluto – Transformation and Power

How can You Learn Your Complete Astrological Makeup?

The Zodiac Sign is related to your birthdate and is your sun sign, but as you can see, there are many other elements to what your Astrological makeup can be.  If you want to learn more and discover which planet is yours, what your moon sign is, and more about Astrology, you can turn to some resources for the information you’re looking for.  Here are some links that might be helpful to you.







This post may contain affiliate links. Meaning a commission is given should you decide to make a purchase through these links, at no cost to you. All products shown are researched and tested to give an accurate review for you.

Recommended Articles